Stephanie Keiner named Alvin S. Bynum Award recipient


Stephanie Keiner, director of Orientation Services, has been awarded the 2020 Alvin S. Bynum Award for Excellence in Academic Mentoring, recognizing her longstanding commitment to the learning process and to student development.

Keiner, who has been part of the Division of Undergraduate Education (DUE) since 2001, has served as the director of Orientation Services since 2007. Keiner, a proud alumna of IUPUI, has demonstrated her commitment to student development and her ability to project and to instill enthusiasm and pride while in this position.

Keiner was nominated by Cathy Buyarski, who serves as the executive associate dean of University College. Keiner was also endorsed by many others, including executive director of student transitions and mentor initiatives, Andrea Engler. These nominations serve as a testament to Keiner's impact on the lives of students.

According to Engler, despite Keiner’s busy days of running large orientation programs, she always has time to be there for her OTEAM leaders when they need to discuss big decisions, challenges, or just life in general.

“Hundreds of students have benefited from Stephanie’s diligent work, incessant energy, and outstanding mentorship,” said Engler, “and I believe that she is most deserving of this award.”

Engler said that through Keiner’s many years of service in higher education, Keiner has developed a deep understanding of the needs for development for undergraduate students and that her greatest strength is empathy and listening.

The award will be presented to Keiner at the 2020 E.C. Moore Symposium on Excellence in Teaching, which will take place in University Tower on Friday, March 6, from 8:30 a.m. to 4:00 p.m.

In addition, Keiner will be recognized at the DUE Staff and Faculty Celebration in May. Congratulations to Keiner for all of her hard work and dedication to the success of students at IUPUI!

About the award

The Alvin S. Bynum Award for Excellence in Academic Mentoring is given each year to one outstanding academic mentor who has shown longstanding commitment to the learning process. The staff member who receives this award is also presented with $1,000.

For more information, contact the Division of Undergraduate Education Office of Communications at