University College Staff Members Inducted as Honorary Members

Indianapolis, IN (January 2008)—Three University College staff members were recently inducted as Honorary members into Golden Key International Honour Society. The Honorary members from University College are Harriett Bennett, Assistant Dean, University College; Lynn Trapp, Manager, Office of Development, Operations, and Employee Relations; and Regina Turner, Associate Professor, School of Liberal Arts. The members of Golden Key are allowed to induct five Honorary members per academic year into their local chapter. These Honorary members were nominated by an existing Golden Key member because of their dedication to the students of University College and IUPUI.

Golden Key International Honour Society was founded in 1977 on the campus of Georgia State University. What began as a small group of undergraduate students and faculty advisors has grown into the world’s largest collegiate honor society. Membership is by invitation only and invitations are only extended to the top fifteen percent of university sophomores, juniors, seniors, and graduate students. The members of Golden Key are dedicated to academics, leadership, and community service. The Society is a nonprofit organization that offers more than $500,000 in annual scholarships and awards as well as networking opportunities, career assistance, and countless other benefits available to its more than 1.8 million members.

Currently, Golden Key has more than 8,000 Honorary members around the world. Each of these Honorary members was elected by a local chapter because of their commitment to their campus and their communities. Some other notable Golden Key Honorary members include Bill Cosby, Ronald Reagan, and Nobel Laureate Elie Wiesel.

For more information, contact the Division of Undergraduate Education Office of Communications at